July / August 2011

Frantic Amber

Stockholm, Sweden-based all-female metal band Frantic Amber will embark on its second tour of Russia in September.

Tour dates :

  • Sep. 02 – Voronezh
  • Sep. 03 – Podolsk
  • Sep. 04 – Tula
  • Sep. 05 – Leningskiy
  • Sep. 07 – Moscow
  • Sep. 08 – Penza
  • Sep. 09 – Ryazan
  • Sep. 10 – Smolensk

The group’s last trip to Russia was a four-date, one-week trek in March which included an appearance at the fifth-anniversary edition of the female-voice festival Zheleznye Devy festival.

“We are so looking forward to come back to Russia! The last tour was awesome and it will be great to meet our Russian fans and friends again!” : Tour promo clip


Australian metal 4-piece ‘Vulvagun’, who in May released the critically acclaimed album ‘Cold Moon over Babylon’, have completed work on their debut music video for the song ‘Arise Neophyte’.   The video was shot by a team put together by Vulvagun’s founder Wayne Dwyer and showcases the band at their melodic and hard hitting best.  It  can be viewed at Vulvagun’s YouTube channel: www.youtube.com/vulvagun

The album ‘Cold Moon Over Babylon’ is available to order on CD at Vulvagun’s website (www.vulvagun.com), or through the BlueFreya webstore (www.bluefreya.com/store) . The initial CD run has sold out due to unprecedented demand and a  new pressing is now underway.  The new version of the CD has an updated booklet with new inner artwork but has been delayed due to technical issues with the manufacturing process and is due to be available  by the end of August.  The album is currently available as a pre-order.

Reviews for ‘Cold Moon Over Babylon’ have been overwhelmingly positive, with one reviewer commenting :

“This album is almost like a drug that you cannot get enough of. It is the type of album that will be played time and time again. This is a mature metal album that has creative music with equally cerebral lyrics that make such an intense combination you will feel drained by the end of the disc. … This is the type of music that I feel fortunate to find and only hope that many get the same chance to hear this magnificent piece of rock and roll.” –  Scott Ward, Sea of Tranquillity (www.seaoftranquility.org/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=11083)


GrimFaith are currently in the studio recording their second long play album.  The new album will contain remastered songs from the 2011 EP “Hearts and Engines” as well as 7 new songs. Recording has been completed, and the band are working on mixing and mastering with Max Pasechnik at Morton Studio in Kiev.  Guitarist Igor Cherepanov says “The recording process is exciting, and it is full of passion!”

Once the recording is completed, the band will return to the stage this autumn with gigs in Kiev at “Children of Night Festival”, and in Moldova supporting Draconian on their mini-tour.


The track “Demons” from Australian Gothic Metal band Temujin has been chosen to be part of the soundtrack for the independent film “Dark of Moon”.   A promotional clip for the movie and song is now online. The video can be seen here : “Demons – Dark of Moon”

More good news for Temujin was the entry of “Demons” into the Jango internet radio network charts in August.   The song broke into the Emerging Artists top ten, placing at #3.

Angelical Tears

Oklahoma’s Angelical Tears continues their busy touring schedule.  Appearances at the Dame-Nation festival in Chicago and the All Stars Tour in Milwaukee in July will be followed up by gigs in Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico and Nevada.  Writing of material for the second release is almost done  and recording is due to begin in September.

High Desert Studios

Several BlyeFreya artists are currently recording at High Desert Studios in New Mexico.

  • Fateless Tears are working a new single and EP and instrumental tracks are largely done.  Vocals and mixing/mastering are still to be completed.  Guitarist Richard Baysinger said : “The new material is taking us into new territory as we move forward on the groundwork laid by songs like Primary and Stasis from the last album.”
  • Amadeus continue work on their debut recording.   The as yet unnamed EP is due for release at the end of 2011.
  • Viggenblot are recording their second EP, to follow the re-issue of the first through BlueFreya next month.

Where Angels Fall

Norway’s Where Angels Fall are recording new material.  Vocalist Eirin decsribed the new songs : “The new WAF songs are kind of back to some more symphonic parts, but also more agression … and the vocals have a rougher edge.”

To support the new material, plans are underway to record a new video, under the watchful eye of director A. Zwart.

New Artists

BlueFreya has reached agreement with the following bands for distribution and promotion :

  • Nymphea : Female fronted metal from France.
  • Viggenblot : Songwriter/guitarist Daron Olsen brings his latest studio project to BlueFreya.

Release Dates

* Luthor – Circles End (LP resissue) July 5

* Trepidation – Now or Never (LP) July 26

Coming Soon …

* Nymphea – Nymphea (EP)

* Viggenblot – Severed Fatalism (EP)

* Demise of Gideon – The Demsie of Gideon (LP reissue)