May / June 2011


The debut album for Australian metal foursome Vulvagun is now out.  Cold Moon Over Babylon has a central theme based on the mythical Lesser Key of Solomon, an ancient text that was later interpreted and used by renaissance scholars to warn of the dangers of demon worship and associated dark arts. The fabled Hammer of Witches is an interpretive subtext and extrapolation of the Key.  Within the music and lyrics of the album, these themes are explored and expanded to include the idea that many of our fears and modern superstitions are a result of the doors to the underworld being opened in the distant past; of the detailed secrets now lost and the struggle to keep our demons, both real and imagined, at arms length. The epic track “Transit of Venus” features a guest vocal appearance by Kelly Lean of Austalian gothic metal band Temujin.  A stirring duet, “Transit of Venus” is a melodic feast, the story a tragedy, with massive  and orchestral soundscapes – it is an inspirational finale to the album.

The album is out now on CD, and selling fast.  The first run is almost sold out, and a second production run is underway.  The worldwide  digital release was June 7 through iTunes, Amazon mp3 and all other major digital retailers.

The band spent the first weekend in June filming the first video from the album for the song ‘Arise Neophyte’, and editing is now underway.   The clip should be publicly available shortly, but in the meantime a short ‘making of’ video shot by the band themselves during filming is now online here :

Sad Alice Said

Ukraine’s leading Gothic/Symphonic Metal band continue to fly high on the Jango internet radio network charts with their debut single “Open Your Eyes” –  six weeks in the Top 5 of the Jango charts, twice making it to the #1 spot. Building on the initial popularity of the single, the band has now released their debut video for “Open Your Eyes”.  A stunning clip to match a stunning song, this is a clip that is not to be missed.  It can be viewed here :

More good news for fans of the band is the release of the followup to the single, the EP “Clock of Eternity”.   This 4 track EP was recorded in early 2011, and is out worldwide from May 31 as a digital-only release.

Frantic Amber

Sweden’s leading all-female metal band continue their furious live schedule with an appearance at the 4-day Sweden Rock festival in early June.   The band played to an estimated crowd of about 8000 during the festival, and left the audience clearly wanting more.

In early May bassist Sandra made a short personal trip to Australia and took some time out to do a few media contacts, including a live-to-air interview at Melbourne’s Triple-R radio station on the “Musically Incorrect” program.  Many thanks to Sandra for giving up some of her ‘free time’ …

Ion Drive

To support the release of their track “Death Without Glory” as part of the “Born of Sand and Snow” compilation, Melbourne band Ion Drive have put together a video clip drawn from live footage.  The clip is online at youtube now, and can be viewed here :

Angelical Tears

With the recent addition of a new keyboard player and drummer, Angelical Tears are set to hit the road in the second half of 2011.  Several gigs in May, including a support slot with Japanese metal legends Loudness,  have honed the band’s live show and they will be taking the new lineup on the road starting in July.    Confirmed dates include the Dame-Nation festival in Chicago in late July, the All Stars Tour show in Milwaukee, and dates in Las Vegas and Denver.  The ban are also working on further touring plans, and hope to have some major announcements soon.

Where Angels Fall

With the addition of  new drummer Ole Kristian Løvberg, writing and recording has begun on new material for the next album.  Further details of tracks and album art/title will be released in the coming months, and the band promises a further development of the sound and style they unveiled with the 2010 single “Indiffernet”.

New Artists

  • Richard J Baysinger : Composer, instrumentalist and producer – Richard Baysinger does it all.  He will release his latest solo instrument EP through BlueFreya in late June.
  • Luthor : Australian Metal band Luthor have agreed to reissue their classic 2007 album ‘Circles End’ digitally through BlueFreya, coming in early July.

Release Dates

* Nothing Sacred – “Deathwish” (EP),May 1

* GrimFaith – “Wrath of Judgement” (EP), May 10

* Sad Alice Said – “Clock of Eternity” (EP), May 31

* Vulvagun – “Cold Moon Over Babylon” (Album), June 7

* Richard J Baysinger – “The Hollow” (EP), June 25

Coming Soon…

* Trepidation – “Now or Never” (Album)

* Luthor – “Circles End” (album reissue)

Support Independent music – click to share